List Of Nigerias Chief Of Army Staff Since 1999 (Pix)
By badge on
List Of Nigerias Chief Of Army Staff Since 1999 (Pix)

In Nigeria, the chief of Army staff is appointed by the Commander-in-chief of the Army Forces of Nigeria, which is also occupied by the most senior commissioned officer. The Chief of army Staff is to report to the Chief of Defence staff, who will also report to the Defence Minister before getting to the president. The chief of Army staff is the highest ranking of the Nigerian Army. His duty is to formulate and execute policies towards the highest attainment of National security and operational competence of the force.

Chiefs of the Nigerian Army

The table below shows the List of Past and Present Chief of Army Staff in Nigeria (General Officer Commanding (GOC) later to Chief of Army Staff (COAS)).

Olusegun Obasanjo: commander in chief
Lt. Gen. Victor Malu (Benue): May 1999 - April 2001
Lt. Gen Alex Ogomudia (Delta): April 2001 - June 2003
Lt Gen Martin Luther Agwai (Kaduna): June 2003 - June 2006
Lt Gen Owoye Andrew Azazi (Bayesla): June 2006 to June 2007

Umar Musa Yaradua: Commander in chief
Lt. Gen. Luka Yusuf (Kaduna): June 2007 to August 2008
Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Danbazzau (Kano): August 2008 - September 2010

Goodluck Jonathan: Commander in chief
Lt. Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika (Abia): Sept 2010 - Jan. 2014
Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah (Rivers): Jan 2014 - July 2015

Muhammad Buhari: Commander in chief
Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai (Borno): July 2015 - Jan 2021
Lt Gen Attahiru Ibrahim (Kaduna): Jan 2021